RSS

Apple Thokku

20 May

I always get angry when the apples at home are not eaten by anyone and they start losing their freshness. If my parents stay with me, I do not need to worry about this because my mother always prepares the thokku with any kind of left-over apples. My father would carefully peel and grate the apples, and my mother would do the rest. My daughter likes the thokku better than the fruit.

Ingredients:

Apple (red, green or yellow) – 3
Gingely or Vegetable Oil – 2 tablespoons
Mustard Seeds – 1 teaspoon
Fenugreek Seeds – 1 teaspoon
Red Chili – 2
Asafoetida Powder – ¼ teaspoon
Curry Leaves
Turmeric Powder – ¼ teaspoon
Dry Chili Powder – 2 teaspoons (for medium spice)
Fenugreek Powder (seeds slightly fried and powdered)
Salt – To taste

Preparation:

Peel and grate the apples. Place oil, mustard seeds, fenugreek seeds and red chilies in a non-stick pan and keep it over medium heat. When the mustard seeds begin to sputter, add asafoetida powder and curry leaves.  Then add the grated apples and turmeric powder.

Stir well until the apple is cooked. Do not add water. Finally add dry chili powder, fenugreek power, and salt. Stir for a few more minutes until everything come together and the oil starts to ooze out. Turn off the heat. Refrigerate after a day.

The sweetness of the apple adds special taste to the thokku. It can be taken with curd rice, chapatti or bread.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 20, 2012 in Apple, Pickle

 

One response to “Apple Thokku

  1. Sruthi

    May 21, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    I’ve always relied on paati or amma to make me these things, like thokku, oorga, etc but this looks like something I mayy be able to make myself!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

